Should I take the plunge?!

New to the Club? Say 'Hello' here :)

Should I take the plunge?!

Postby sirsomeone » Tue Aug 28, 2012 11:27 am

Hi Stepwagon fans,

I recently had my beloved Bongo stolen, so started looking round for alternatives... and then I stumbled upon the Stepwagon.

Has anybody else made that same leap?

To be honest, I don't want any of the cooker/sink conversion stuff in whatever car I choose... just the capacity to fold down for a comfortable night's sleep. That said, some things I did love about the Bongo were its elevating roof and its 4WD. I've seen mention of a Field-deck model, and seen pictures of Stepwagons with both these features... but are these things that have been modified after purchase? Or is that standard stuff for a Field-deck?

Sorry for all the questions... I'm still learning!

S.
sirsomeone

Re: Should I take the plunge?!

Postby scottydot80 » Thu Aug 30, 2012 10:13 am

dude i just brought my rf1 last weekend dont regret it at all for a 97 car its better than nearly all the newer cars ive had, drive nice handles good excelerates pretty well for a tank too. i was just gutted that i only had 3k to spend and couldnt find a sexy one with the kit on in my price range but im struggling to find any kits for them even though biggest majority are kitted than not?? and cant find any guides to wheel sizes as id love to slap a big set o 19`s 20`s but dont wana buy em to find out they dont fit?? im just baffled that these are modded van with no infomation or anything out ther?
scottydot80

Postby stepdaddy » Fri Aug 31, 2012 3:51 pm

sir someone,

The Fielddeck was a factory option, as you can see from this http://world.honda.com/news/1998/printerfriendly/4980122b.html